Most of the work conducted by ICCAIA is done by four committees composed of staff from the member associations, as well as from companies in member countries.

The four committees are:

Aircraft Noise and Engine Emissions Committee (ANEEC)

There are increased local, national, and international pr​​​essures on the aviation industry to reduce the impact on the environment, particularly with respect to noise, emissions (NOx, HC, CO and smoke), and fuel burn (CO2). This committee provides input to the ICAO Committee on Aviation Environmental Protection (CAEP) that addresses all of these issues. The ANEEC provides the CAEP with input as to how to measure the effects that are to be controlled, the technology available for such control, as well as the trade-offs that may occur when trying to reduce one of the three variables on the other two. Finally the ANEEC also examines operational approaches to reducing noise and emissions as well as technological measures (e.g., improved air traffic management and market-based options).

Chairman: Daniel Carnelly (ASD, Airbus)​

Vice Chairman: Arnaud Bonnet (AIAB, Embraer)

Point of Contact:

Maria Chiara Detragiache, Committee Coordinator


Communication, Navigation, and Surveillance/Air Traffic Management/ (CNS/ATM)

Civil aviation can only expand as rapidly as national air traffic control systems can safely and expeditiously handle increased movement of aircraft. Such expansion requires both financial resources and new technologies, and equally difficult changes in operational techniques and, increasingly, international cooperation. This makes improving the system a most difficult problem. A combination of a downturn in most economies and the aftermath of September 11 and the SARS scare temporarily disrupted the growth trend in aviation, thereby relieving some pressure on the international air traffic control systems. However, air traffic is growing again, and the expectation is that air traffic will soon once again press up against the limits of existing physical infrastructure and operational methods. The CNS/ATM Committee examines how new technologies and different operational concepts can expand the capacity of air traffic control services.

Chairman: Jerome Condis (AS, Airbus)​

Vice Chairman: TBD

Point of Contact:

Email: TBD

Airworthiness Committee

This ICCAIA committee was launched in 2004 and coordinates industry positions concerning aircraft airworthiness requirements, as well as the acceptance and resolution of any task of an international nature relating to airworthiness certification requirements. The Airworthiness Committee is concerned primarily with actions on an international basis, normally as a result of ICAO policies. It may however extend to regional or national levels as appropriate. The committee meets annually during the U.S.-European Aviation Safety Conference (formerly the FAA-JAA Harmonization Conference) in June and at other times as necessary.

Chairman: Simon Lie (AIA, Boeing)

Vice Chairman: Gilles Garrouste (ASD, Dassault-Aviation)

Point of Contact:

George Novak, Committee Coordinator


Security Committee

This is ICCAIA’s newest committee representing civil aviation stakeholders in the area of aviation security. By establishing a security committee, with the exclusive responsibility of addressing aviation security matters, ICCAIA will be able to promote a safe and economical air transport industry more effectively. The committee is of major interest since ICAO has highlighted the importance of aviation security by making it one of six ICAO strategic objectives through the year 2010. Aviation security is a vital part in order to ensure a safe, economical and sustainable air transport industry and the committee works to develop and express a coordinated industry position on matters relating to aviation security. It is expected that the committee will meet twice a year, one meeting in Europe and one in the U.S. (alternative conference calls are also envisaged).

Chairman: Xavier Depin (ASD, Airbus)

Vice Chairman: Patrick Morrissey (AIA, Rockwell Collins)

Point of Contact:

Yoann Viaouët, Committee Coordinator